Fighting with depression as an expat mother

Being an expat can sometimes make you feel lonely and more towards depression When you are an expat mum, those feelings can get stronger.

Traveling was a way for me to get out of these feeling. I was changing countries whenever I started feeling low.

Now, as a mother of two, that is not possible anymore. Still, once you have depression, it comes back.

During my first year in this new country, I learnt the language. Still not perfect but enough to find my way around. I also learnt what could have been done better.

At the birth of my second child, an English-speaking midwife told me to get help and she told me where: the “Ambulanz” as they call it here, from the University hospital. From there, I understood much more about myself and I am still getting the help. Notably, I understood the cause. I am also more aware when the depression is hitting.

Of course there are plenty of obstacles : the language, the culture, the family, the weather (we are having a heatwave at the time I am writing this), and probably some more.

Sharing with other expat mums is still difficult. Everyone still finds support from somewhere, where the links with my home countries are nearly inexistent. I am finding shelter in my husband’s culture and country.

I am still on the process on what I could possibly do now to feel better when traveling is not possible anymore ? Going to my husband’s family isn’t one either. Also, now, the time is limited between dropping and picking up the kids. Tell me, what do you do to feel better about yourself ?