Belgrade, the city of parties

Marie Damman
Marie Damman

With a couple of my friends, we spent a couple of  days in Belgrade, Serbia. On the daytime, we visited downtown, the old and the new Belgrade. There is not so much to see. What we enjoyed the most on the daytime was the forteresse, with the view on the two rivers joining each other. It is incredible how the color can be different accordinf to the river way. For our whole trip, we like the most the nightlife..

Our friend was right. I asked her how is life in Serbia, she answered:

“It is all about parties.”

We met Serbian girls to show us around. We discovered nice places to have a beer, a second one, and some traditional Serbian shots, Rakia. Some of us got dizzy. Some of the Serbians also made bad comments about my sweater, I wore an American flag on my chest. My friend warned me:

“I wouldn’t wear this tonight if I were you”

She added I should rather wear a Russian flag.

I didn’t understand at first, before getting into the parties and listening these remarks about my sweater. Serbia tries to get into the European Union and feels so bad to the United States at the same time, this doesn’t sound logical to me.

Parties don’t last so long in Belgrade. Pubs close around midnight, 1 a.m, then Serbians use to go to club to dance. Some rare bars offers also a dance floors so you can party and drink all night long. The music on is really different from Romania and Western European countries. The two nights we spent there, we only heard Serbian songs. Some of the Serbian girls knew some lyrics by heart. I was expecting songs from pop stars such as Miley Cyrus for the Americans, Jenifer for the French, but I guess, for Serbian, the most famous are old-fashioned. When I asked after these songs I had Marinko Rokvic drinking wine alone on his round table, and Toma Zdravkovic with his grey hair.

We stayed at the Chillton Hostel, behind the Saint Sava temple. The place is okay. We got into a tiny room for 6 beds. Likely, it wasn’t full when we arrived.

From there, we tried some traditional places. We found a fish restaurant, where they served us two fish for three people and we were starving; we also ate in a local fast food with traditional cheese & spicy sauce and had breakfast on the go in a local bakery brand. The food is really good. The counter people always try to find someone who speaks English to serve us. They take it well and are always smiling. Serbian will always try to find a way to help you out.

Even though, it is quiet complicated to find someone who speak English. We always remember this advice: “find someone young”, most of the time, it works and most of the time in Belgrade, people don’t have a good English.

Like this, we met someone from Syria, who escaped the war a year ago. He is now living in Belgrade. We didn’t get a chance to talk to him so much; our fatigue was winning in our bodies.

 

